MINNETONKA INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT #276 Service Center 5621 County Road 101 Minnetonka, Minnesota

Minutes of August 20, 2020 Special School Board Meeting

The School Board of Minnetonka Independent School District #276 met in special session at 6:00 p.m. on Thursday, August 20, 2020 in the Community Room at the District Service Center, 5621 County Road 101, Minnetonka, Minnesota. Chairperson Katie Becker presided. Also present were Board members Mark Ambrosen, John Holcomb, Mike LeSage, Christine Ritchie, Chris Vitale, Lisa Wagner and Superintendent Dennis Peterson, ex officio.

Chairperson Becker called the meeting to order and asked that everyone stand and recite the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

1. AGENDA

Wagner moved, Holcomb seconded, that the School Board approve the agenda, as presented. Upon roll call vote being taken thereon, the motion carried unanimously.

2. REPORTS FROM PRINCIPALS ON OPENING OF SCHOOL PLANS

Reports were given to the Board from the following individuals regarding their Opening of School Plans:

Curt Carpenter, Clear Springs Elementary Principal Bryan McGinley, Deephaven Elementary Principal Stacy DeCorsey, Excelsior Elementary Principal Andrew Gilbertson, Groveland Elementary Principal Cindy Andress, Minnewashta Elementary Principal Joe Wacker, Scenic Heights Elementary Principal Pete Dymit, MME Principal Freya Schirmacher, MMW Principal Jeff Erickson, MHS Principal Dr. Paula Hoff, retired MMW Principal (e-Learning Plan) Paul Bourgeois, Executive Director of Finance and Operations (Health and Safety) Annie Lumbar-Benson, Health Services Coordinator (Health and Safety)

Chairperson Becker thanked all the presenters for their in-depth reports. Questions were then asked by Board members around the following topics:

• What types of communications methods are being utilized to keep parents, students and staff informed?

- How will the elementary principals support the fourth and fifth graders at the high school?
- What types of professional development will be offered for teachers before the start of school?
- What will the first few days of school look like?
- What are the staff numbers for e-learning vs. hybrid?
- Could a block schedule be utilized at the middle schools?
- How will the Class of 2024 be welcomed to MHS?
- How will MHS students connect with their counselors?
- What will the e-learning norms be for students?
- Will teachers continue to have the same amount of prep time?
- Will release times be staggered?
- What will specials and lunch look like at the elementary level?
- How will students be placed in classes if they make the switch from e-learning to hybrid?

All of the Board members' questions were fully answered, and a video recording of the entire meeting can be found on the "School Board Meetings" page on the District website.

3. APPROVAL OF POLICY #810: FACE COVERING POLICY

Dr. Peterson noted that the template for this policy had been produced by the Minnesota School Boards Association (MSBA). Many districts are in the process of adopting this policy at this time.

Wagner moved, Ambrosen seconded, that the Board approve Policy #810: Face Covering Policy. Upon vote being taken thereon, the motion carried unanimously.

Chairperson Becker noted that the approved policy would be posted to the District website under the "Policies" tab.

4. APPROVAL OF POSSIBLE CHANGES TO SCHOOL OPENING PLAN

Board members did not vote on any changes to the school opening plan. Chairperson Becker said this item would also be part of the September 3 regular meeting agenda.

5. CONSENT AGENDA

Wagner moved, Vitale seconded, that the School Board approve all recommendations included within the following Consent Agenda items:

• Minutes of August 6, 2020 Regular Meeting and August 9, 2020 Closed Session

Upon vote being taken on the foregoing Consent Agenda items, the motion carried unanimously.

6. ADJOURNMENT TO STUDY SESSION

At 9:40 p.m., Wagner moved, Ambrosen seconded, that the Board adjourn the special meeting and move to study session. Upon roll call vote being taken thereon, the motion carried unanimously.

John P. Hohnle John Holcomb, Clerk