English Learner (EL)

English Learner Program

The Minnetonka School District offers an educational program to meet the needs of students who are English Language Learners in grades K-12. This program addresses two areas: language acquisition and cultural adjustment.

The English Learner (EL) program may sometimes be referred to as the English Learner Program or English as a Second Language Program. Language is an essential tool for communication and the fulfillment of academic and personal needs. The staff of the EL department fosters meaningful understanding of American English and respect for all languages and cultures by facilitating classroom and personal success.

Our goal is to provide appropriate learning experiences for every EL student with consideration given to each student’s first language levels, English abilities in academic and social contexts, and school readiness.

Minnetonka’s EL program has a Language Instruction Educational Program (LIEP) plan which is available upon request.

Minnetonka EL at a Glance

  • Approximately 180 students district wide (100 elementary, 80 secondary).
  • Students come from homes that speak more than 40 different languages.
  • The top languages other than English in Minnetonka include: Spanish, Chinese, Russian, Somali, Cambodian (Khmer) and Arabic.

EL Resources


Contact

Anna Bjork
Minnetonka Middle School East
anna.bjork@minnetonkaschools.org

Lisa Blankenburg
Minnetonka Middle School West
Minnewashta Elementary
Lisa.Blankenburg@minnetonkaschools.org

Heather Daldoul
Clear Springs Elementary and MCEC
heather.daldoul@minnetonkaschools.org

Maura Devanie
Deephaven Elementary
maura.devanie@minnetonkaschools.org

Chelsea Jordan
Minnetonka High School
chelsea.jordan@minnetonkaschools.org

Eunju Kim
Groveland Elementary
eunju.kim@minnetonkaschools.org

Megan Mlekoday
Scenic Heights Elementary
megan.mlekoday@minnetonkaschools.org

Jayna Rafferty
Excelsior Elementary
Department Chair
jayna.rafferty@minnetonkaschools.org

Kristyn Roman
Minnetonka High School
kristyn.roman@minnetonkaschools.org

District Paraprofessionals

Debra Black
debra.black@minnetonkaschools.org

Tami Braiedy
tami.braiedy@minnetonkaschools.org

Carrie Carns
carrie.carns@minnetonkaschools.org

Kelly Connelly
kelly.connelly@minnetonkaschools.org

Tafat Ostfield
tafat.ostfield@minnetonkaschools.org